Andhra Pradesh: Short Notes on States of India – For UPSC/SSC/PSC Apirants

In this tutorial, we will go through all Important Points related to Andhra Pradesh that can be asked in your exams. Andhra Pradesh is situated on the South Eastern Coast of India and is surrounded by Telangana to the north-west, Chhattisgarh to the north, Odisha to the north-east, Tamil Nadu to the south, Karnataka to the west and the Bay of Bengal to the east. This state is mainly composed of three regions: Uttarandhra, Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema.

Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh: Short Notes on States of India

Also Read: Assam: Short Notes on States of India – For UPSC/SSC/PSC Aspirants

  • Andhra Pradesh is the 8th Largest State by Area and 10th Largest State by Population.
  • British established their first factory in South India at Masulipatnam.
  • It is the first state in India which was formed purely on the Linguistic Basis in the Year 1953.
  • State is having 2nd longest Coastline in India after Gujarat of about 974 KM.
  • State is also Known as Egg Bowl of Asia because it is the largest producer of eggs in India.
  • Vishakhapatnam is the largest city of the State. More about Andhra Pradesh.
  • It can be divided into four separate regions: Coastal Plain, Deccan Plateau, Eastern Highland and Central Plateau.
  • State Animal is Blackbuck and State Bird is Indian Roller.
  • Telugu is the Official language of the State.
  • Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.
  • Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated into two states Andhra Pradesh and Telangana in the Year 2014.
  • State has total of 13 districts. Anantapur is the largest district of Andhra Pradesh by area and East Godavari district is the largest by Population.
  • Major rivers of the State are Godavari and Krishna. Another river called Pennar river which Originates from Nandi Hills also flows through the state.
  • Andhra Pradesh is the first Indian State that implemented Panchayati Raj System.
  • Major Hills of the State are Northern Circars, Nallamalla Hills, Vellikonda range and Palkonda range.
  • Armakonda is the highest Peak of Eastern Ghats.
  • There are two major lakes in the State: Pulikat Lake and Kolleru Lake. Kolleru Lake is also the largest fresh water lake of India. It is situated between the Deltas of Godavari and Krishna.
  • Pulikat Lake is the second largest brackish water Lake of India after Chilika Lake.
  • There is only one Biosphere Reserve in the State: Seshachalam Biosphere Reserve in the State.
  • Major National Parks in the State are Papikonda National Park and Sri Venkateshwara National Park.
  • State has famous Nagarjunsagar-Srisailam Tiger Reserve. This is the largest Tiger Reserve of India.
  • Vishakhapatnam is one of the 13 major ports of India and is the only major port of the State. It is also the deepest Port of India.
  • Major Tribes of the Andhra Pradesh are Chenchus, Bhil, Gond, Kolawar, Dhulia, Thoti, Savaras, Rona, Kammara, Dhora, Kolam, Konda and Yerukula.
  • Burrakatha is the popular folk dance of the State. Other Popular Folk Dances are Veera Natyam, Butta Bommalu, Tappeta Gullu, Dhimsa Dance, Kolannalu or Kolatam.
  • State is the leading Producer of Cement.
  • National Research Centre for Oil Palm is located in Pedavegi.
  • Central Tobaco Research Institute is situated in Rajamundry.
  • Rajamundry is also the Cultural Capital of the State.
  • Thumalapalle Uranium Mine is the largest Uranium Mine in India.
  • Venkatachalam Village is the first rural cyber centre in India.
  • India’s first rubber dam was constructed at Vizianagram.

Leave a Comment